Goal 5 : Stepping out of your comfort zone # 30goalsedu

Feeling safe and comfort, yes, I used to be a person who enjoyed being in the old box. I wake up every morning then starting my morning classes at 7 – 8 am. Then, I have a break time for 4 or 5 hours before I started my afternoon classes at 2 or 3 pm. In my spare time, I sometimes prepare some materials for the next classes or just do something fun, likes watching movie, writing a story etc. I work from Monday to Saturday. I always do the same activities everyday.
I am an English teacher, I teach English for kids, teens and adults. I work at a good place, I always get what I want. If I need supporting materials, I just call the Education Dept Staff to find it for me. I am lazy to learn something new. I feel safe as  I have friends who always be with me and understand me. I feel like I shouldn’t do anything to develop my teaching skill. I have dreams but I always keep them in my mind. I almost do the same activities everyday. It lasted for about 5 years. At the same time I feel comfort and also feel ’empty soul’ . Yeah,it is ” My Comfort Zone”.

In my comfort zone;

Safe            Limited  dreams       Lazy

Same friends         Same office         Passive

No challenge        Less confidence.

After 5 years, I feel like I’ve slept too long and I couldn’t wake up. Then, one day in February 2013, I got a new experience. I joined Teacher Workshop held by iTDi Community in Jakarta. During the workshop I feel that I am no body. No body knows who I am. It’s not easy for a teacher like me to start having a small talk with new people. However, It is a chance for me to make new friends out side my comfort zone.
After a few weeks, I made my big decision,I had to try something new somewhere. I started to arrange my new timeline of my daily activities. I know that it will be hard for me. Some friends of mine think that I’ve changed to be a new person. I was not Ika anymore. Whatever people think about me, I took the risks with my whole heart.

Yeah, I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone and go out and connect with new people outside my zone. I know that they didn’t recognize me as IKA, an English teacher. I’ve got a lot of new things, the things that I will never get if I stayed in my old box.
Outside my comfort zone; 
      
Unlimited dream and ideas       More confident             

Active Diligent to learn

Fearlessness      More new friends

That is who I am now. I feel that I have found myself as me and as a teacher. By making decision to step out of my comfort zone I also change my ways of teaching. I have many sources for my supporting materials. I dare to start my first virtual exchange project with my ELT friend.
I never regret with my decision as after stepping out of my comfort zone I feel “I grow become a better person and a better teacher”
Thank you for reading.
Squid hugs,

Ika Chieka

2 thoughts on “Goal 5 : Stepping out of your comfort zone # 30goalsedu

  1. Dear Chieka,
    I’ve read your post with great enthusiasm and I’m very happy you have decided to change your attitude. I do hope you can tell us about your activities at school soon!
    All my support, smiles from Argentina, Maria 🙂

    • Thank you for giving your nice comment Maria. I’ve been trying to be a better person and of course to be a better teacher. Actually I’ve told little bit about my activities in my previous posts. But, I’m planning to write my activities completely in my next posts. I’m a new blogger Maria,so I’m still learning how to create a good blog in order to make readers enjoy reading my posts. I am also not familiar with Tech,still learning,too:) Keep learning!

      Squid hugs,

      Ika,Indonesia.

Leave a Reply

